Unseren Einfluss messen: Die neuesten Forschungsergebnisse

In Arbeit

Die Rainforest Alliance hat derzeit beauftragt bzw. beteiligt sich an den folgenden Studien, um die Auswirkungen ihrer Arbeit auszuwerten:

Titel Beschreibung Land
Pilot Testing a Streamlined Methodology for Monitoring Water Quality on Cocoa and Coffee Farms. Die Rainforest Alliance arbeitet mit einem Wissenschaftler der Universität Georgia zusammen, um ein optimiertes, kostengünstiges Überwachungsprotokoll zur Kontrolle der Wasserqualität zu entwickeln und zu testen. Dieses Verfahren soll während Zertifizierungsprüfungen oder bei Besuchen der technischen Berater verwendet werden. Testläufe finden auf Kakaofarmen in Ghana und auf Kaffeefarmen in Costa Rica und Ruanda statt. Ghana, Costa Rica, Ruanda
The Role of Shade Trees in Watershed Conservation in Coffee Agro-forestry Landscapes Ein Forscher der Universität von Georgia (USA) bestimmt die optimale Schattenbaumdichte in der Umgebung von Kaffeefarmen für den Schutz aquatischer Ökosysteme. Außerdem werden Richtlinien entwickelt zur Verbesserung von Zertifizierungsprogrammen und -standards und des Systems zur Bezahlung von Umweltdienstleistungen (sog. Payment for Environmental Services - PES). Costa Rica
Natural Ecosystem Assessment (NEA) Pilot in Ghana and Indonesia NEA ist ein neu entwickeltes Auswertungsverfahren, mit dem der Einfluss des Eingreifens durch die Rainforest Alliance bewertet werden soll. Erfasst wird die Veränderung von Ausmaß und Qualität natürlicher und halb-natürlicher Lebensräumeüber die Dauer eines Projekts. Es bildet den natürlichen Lebensraum vor und nach dem Eingreifen ab und erfasst Messdaten aus der Feldbeobachtung. Ghana, Indonesien
An Analysis of Deforestation in Rainforest Alliance Certified and Noncertified Community Managed Forest Concessions in Northern Honduras Analyse der Entwaldung in und in Nähe von unter Gemeindeverwaltung stehender Forstgebiete und in Nähe des Río Plátano Biosphären-Reservats im Norden von Honduras unter Nutzung Satelliten-gestützter Aufnahmen aus mehreren Jahren. Honduras
Developing an Adaptive Management System for Evaluating Cocoa Productivity Best Practices Die Rainforest Alliance führt ein Beobachtungs- und Auswertungssystem ein, um die Wirksamkeit von Schulungsansätzen und bestgeeigneter Verfahren auf die Kakaoproduktivität und -qualität zu bewerten. Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Indonesien, Peru
Evaluating the Impact of Forest Management Interventions on Biodiversity, Deforestation & Degradation Diese Untersuchung erfolgt in Zusammenarbeit mit "Resources for the Future", um den Einfluss forstlicher Bewirtschaftungsverfahren auf den Erhalt oder die Erweiterung der Artenvielfalt und andere positive Umweltauswirkungen im Zusammenhang mit dem Klimaschutzprogramm REDD+ zu bewerten. Mexiko
The Rainforest Alliance Synthesis Series Unterschiedlichste Interessengruppen zeigen großes Interesse an den neuesten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen, die aufzeigen, ob Schulung und Zertifizierung der Rainforest Alliance die erwarteten Einflüsse und Resultate erzielen. Als Antwort darauf hat E&R eine Reihe von Berichten zu einzelnen Kulturpflanzen oder Themengebieten erstellt, die die Ergebnisse – gleich ob positiv oder negativ – und die wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse darstellen. Synthesen für Kaffee, Kakao und Wasser sind aktuell in Vorbereitung. Weltweit
Tracking Performance of Rainforest Alliance Certified Tea Farms from First Audit to Present: An Analysis of Audit Reports from East Africa Wir haben die Auditberichte von 19 Rainforest Alliance Certified™ -Teeproduzenten in Ost-Afrika untersucht und verfolgen die festgestellten Nicht-Übereinstimmungen (Non-Konformitäten) bei jedem Produzenten, bei dem welche aufgetreten sind, über alle folgenden Audits, um nachzuhalten, ob und welche Verbesserungen umgesetzt wurden. Malawi, Ruanda, Tansania
Understanding the Farm-level Economics of Rainforest Alliance Certification Zusammen mit der Rainforest Alliance erstellen Forscher des Conservation Strategy Fund eine Grundstruktur, die genutzt werden kann, um den finanziellen Nutzen und die Kosten von verschiedenen von der Rainforest Alliance getätigten Maßnahmen zu ermitteln; hier mit dem Fokus auf der ersten zur Zertifizierung führenden Maßnahme bis zu der nachfolgenden Zertifizierung und anschließender Zertifikatsverlängerungen. Weltweit

Abgeschlossen

Um sämtliche abgeschlossenen Studien einzusehen, gehen sie bitte auf die Seite Publikationen oder klicken Sie auf eine bestimmte Studie (Titel) oben.

Titel Beschreibung Land
Reducing Tourism’s Threats to Biodiversity: Effects of a voluntary sustainability standard system on 106 Latin American tourism enterprises (auf englisch) Wir haben die Leistung von 106 Hotels in sechs lateinamerikanischen Ländern untersucht und den Anforderungen der 29 Kriterien des Standards für nachhaltigen Tourismus gegenübergestellt, die unmittelbar mit dem Erhalt der Biodiversität verknüpft sind. Dies wurde vor und nach der Schulung und Verifizierung durch die Rainforest Alliance durchgeführt. Belize, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Guatemala, Mexiko und Nicaragua
Report on Governmental Incentives for Sustainable Practices in the Agriculture, Forestry and Tourism Sectors in Latin America (auf englisch) Dieser Bericht untersucht bestehende staatliche Anreize, die die nachhaltige Produktion in den Bereichen Landwirtschaft, Forstwirtschaft und Tourismus in acht lateinamerikanischen Ländern vorantreiben: Argentinien, Brasilien, Chile, Kolumbien, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Mexiko und Peru. Diese Gesetze und Richtlinien zeigen den Einsatz für den verantwortlichen Umgang mit der Umwelt in Lateinamerika und bieten somit ein Modell für staatliche Anreize für nachhaltige Produktion weltweit. Lateinamerika
Farmer Bankability and Sustainable Finance: Farm-Level Metrics that Matter (auf englisch) Wissenschaftler verglichen im Auftrag der Rainforest Alliance Rainforest-Alliance-zertifizierte Farmen und nicht-zertifizierte Farmen anhand verschiedener Bilanzwerte. Ebenso untersuchten sie soziale Geldgeber und lokale einheimische Finanzinstitute. Aus der Untersuchung ergab sich ein Mindestmaß notwendiger Kennzahlen , die die Farmer dokumentieren und nachhalten müssen, um Kredite zu erhalten. Es zeigte sich auch, dass zertifizierte Farmen diese Daten besser verfolgen und dass sie besseren Zugang zu Krediten haben. Als weiteres Ergebnis bestätigte sich, dass Geldgeber, auch wennl sie es vorziehen, kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen Geld zu leihen, Farm-basierte Kennzahlen in die Wertung aufnehmen. Kolumbien, Peru
Impacts of SAN Certification on Water Quality, Soil Invertebrates, Farmer Livelihoods and Arboreal Mammals on Coffee Farms in Colombia (auf englisch) Zusammenfassung der Ergebnisse von vier Studien, durchgeführt von Cenicafe, einer auf Kaffee ausgerichteten Forschungseinrichtung in Kolumbien: Wasserläufe erweisen sich gesünder auf zertifizierten Farmen; Farmer führen mehr Methoden zur besseren Bewirtschaftung ein als die Farmer auf nicht-zertifizierten Farmen. Kolumbien
Monitoring & Evaluation of the Impact of Training Modalities for Sustainable Tea Production: Rainforest Alliance Training and Certification and Farmer Field School Training (auf englisch) Umsetzung durch Forscherteam der Wageningen Universität (NL): Teefarmer, die die Schulungsprogramme der Rainforest Alliance durchlaufen haben, wenden signifikant mehr Umweltschutzmaßnahmen an als die nicht-trainierte Kontrollgruppe; auch ist die Qualität der Teeblätter besser. Kenia
Kleinhans Fellowship Special Feature in FAO Non-Wood News (auf englisch) Aus Anlass des 25-jährigen Bestehens der Rainforest Alliance und im ehrenden Gedenken an Elysabeth Kleinhans baten wir alle ehemaligen Kleinhans Stipendiaten um Berichte über ihre Einschätzungen der gegenwärtigen Situation für Nicht-Holz-Forstprodukte (NTFPs) und die von ihnen wahrgenommenen Veränderungen seit Abschluss ihrer eigenen Studien. Weltweit
Côte D’Ivoire Cocoa: COSA Survey of Rainforest Alliance Certified Farms (auf englisch) In 2009 und 2011 erhoben COSA-Wissenschaftler Daten auf Rainforest-Alliance-zertifizierten und auf nicht-zertifizierten Kakaofarmen. Zertifizierte Farmen zeigten unter anderem höhere Produktivität, höheres Netto-Einkommen und geringere Erosionserscheinungen entlang von Flussufern. Côte D'Ivoire
Testing a BMP‐Based Approach for Assessing Gaps in Certification Impacts Research (auf englisch) Die Rainforest Alliance hat im Verbund mit Forschern der Wright State Universität unter Auswertung wissenschaftlicher Literatur eine Methode entwickelt zur Erhebung zertifzierungsrelevanter Best-Management-Praktiken und diese in neuem Kontext getestet. Weltweit
An Evaluation of Forest Cover on Rainforest Alliance Certified and Noncertified Coffee Farms in Aratoca Municipality, Santander, Colombia (Spanisch) Wissenschaftler der Anden-Universität in Kolumbien nutzten Satelliten-gestützte Aufnahmen zur Kartierung von Waldflächen innerhalb der vorhandenen Kaffeeanbauflächen. Sie verglichen Rainforest-Alliance-zertifizierte und nicht-zertifizierte Kaffeefarmen und analysierten die Fragmentierung des vorhandenen Waldbestandes. Da die meisten Farmen Kaffee unter Schattenbäumen anbauen, konnte festgestellt werden, dass der Baumbestand für das Ausmaß der Konnektivität (Vernetzung der Landschaft) eine wichtige Rolle spielt. Kolumbien
The Contribution of Rainforest Alliance/Forest Stewardship Council Certification to the Conservation of World Heritage Sites (auf englisch) Um zu beantworten, ob Rainforest-Alliance-zertifizierte Wälder die Gesundheit benachbarter Gebiete positiv beeinflussen, untersuchten wir die Nachbesserungs-Anforderungen (sog. Corrective Action Requests - CARs) für Rainforest-Alliance-zertifizierte Waldflächen, die in direkter Nachbarschaft oder im Umkreis von bis zu 20 km zu einer Welterbestätte liegen. Diese Forstbetriebe hatten häufig Verbesserungen umzusetzen, die sich direkt auf Gefährdungen benachbarter Welterbestätten auswirkten. Weltweit
Are Rainforest Alliance Certified Coffee Plantations Bird-Friendly? (auf englisch) Forscher unseres Partners SalvaNATURA, El Salvador, untersuchten das Vorkommen von Vögeln auf Rainforest-Alliance-zertifizierten Kaffeefarmen, technisierten, besonnten Kaffeefarmen, bei offenem Anbau, kleinen und großen Waldflächen. Unter anderem stellten sie fest, dass insbesondere Zugvögel die zertifizierten Farmen und die Waldflächen signifikant bevorzugen. El Salvador
Rainforest Alliance Technical Assistance: Strengthening Community Forestry Operations in Mexico, Guatemala and Honduras (auf englisch) Zusammen mit Partnern vor Ort hat das TREES-Team der Rainforest Alliance verschiedene sozio-ökonomische Variablen erhoben, bevor und nachdem kommunale Forstbetriebe technische Hilfestellung erhalten hatten. Im Ergebnis zeigten sich höheres Einkommen, höhere Effizienz, mehr Arbeitsplätze sowie verschiedene weitere Vorteile. Mexiko, Guatemala, Honduras
Impact of Cocoa Intensification Best Management Practices on Household Livelihood Systems. (auf englisch) Diese Studie untersucht die Auswirkungen von bestgeeigneten Verfahren zur Intensivierung des Kakaoanbaus auf den privaten Lebensunterhalt und benutzt dafür die Methode des sog. Household Economy Approach (HEA). Indonesien
Working Toward Cooperative Non-timber Forest Product (NTFP) Management: Integrating Economic, Institutional and Ecological Analysis to Balance Community Livelihoods and Forest Conservation in Western Amazonia Diese Analyse von mehr als 15 Jahren retrospektiver sozio-ökonomischen Daten und regelmäßigen Besuchen dreier verschiedener Gesellschaftsgruppen im Amazonas untersucht, ob das Ressourcen- Management in den Händen der indigenen und gesellschaftlichen Gruppen die Lebensumstände und die Folgen für die Biodiversität verbessert. Unter den hauptsächlichen Ergebnissen des Dokuments: Gemeinden, die ihre Wälder gemeinschaftlich verwalten, sind, verglichen mit privaten Landbesitzern, effektiver im Verhindern von Entwaldung auf ihrem Land und Verbessern die ökonomische Rendite der Waldprodukte. Brasilien
Charting Transitions to Conservation-Friendly Agriculture: The Rainforest Alliance’s approach to monitoring and assessing results for biodiversity, ecosystems and the environment (auf englisch) Dieser Bericht beschreibt die Bandbreite an Methoden, die die Rainforest Alliance entwickelt hat, um die Umweltgesundheit und die Beobachtungsergebnisse im Zeitablauf abzubilden. Er entstand zusammen mit Umweltexperten und Experten für die Überwachung und Bewertung von Zertifizierungssystemen. Der Bericht ist ein Leitfaden im Sinne der ‚Performance Messung 101‘; er beschreibt die sechs ökologischen Auswertungsmethoden: Kontexterfassung/-kartierung (context mapping), Bewertung von natürlichen Ökosystemen, Überwachung/Kontrolle der Wasserqualität, Überwachung/Kontrolle der Leistungsfähigkeit der Farm, Analyse von CO2 und Treibhausgasen, Überwachung/Kontrolle des Artenvorkommens auf lokaler Ebene. Weltweit
Conserving Biodiversity through Certification of Tropical Agroforestry Crops at Local and Landscape Scales (auf englisch) Der in der Zeitschrift Conservation Letters erschienene Aufsatz (mit verfasst von zwei Mitarbeitern der Rainforest Alliance) bewertet bisherige Erfahrungen mit der Zertifizierung von tropischem Agro-Forst-Anbau (Kaffee und Kakao). Untersucht werden die Einflüsse durch den Schutz und Erhalt der Artenvielfalt und wie die Zertifizierung von Agro-Forst-Kulturpflanzen dazu beitragen kann, verbesserte Auswirkungen auf den Umweltschutz in der Zukunft zu erzielen. Weltweit
Sustainable Agriculture Network/Rainforest Alliance Monitoring & Evaluation System Public Report (auf englisch) Im Geschäftsjahr 2014 wurde der erste Monitoring- und Evaluations-Bericht des Sustainable Agriculture Network/der Rainforest Alliance erstellt und an ISEAL (www.isealalliance.org) übermittelt, um die Einhaltung des Impacts Kodex zu überprüfen. Der Kodex schreibt dem SAN/RA-System vor, dass Monitoring- und Evaluations-Pläne entwickelt werden, die alle Schritte aufführen, die für eine systematische Bewertung des Einflusses auf soziale und ökologische Gegebenheiten notwendig sind. Der Bericht zeigt unseren bisherigen Fortschritt auf. Weltweit

 

Search form

Measuring Our Impact: The Latest Research

In Progress

The Rainforest Alliance currently directs and/or participates in the following research studies to evaluate the effectiveness of our work:

Title Description Location
Pilot Testing a Streamlined Methodology for Monitoring Water Quality on Cocoa and Coffee Farms The Rainforest Alliance is working with a researcher at the University of Georgia to develop and test a streamlined, low-cost water quality monitoring protocol that can be used during certification audits or technical assistance visits. Testing is being conducted on cocoa farms in Ghana, and on coffee farms in Costa Rica and Rwanda. Ghana, Costa Rica, Rwanda
The Role of Shade Trees in Watershed Conservation in Coffee Agro-forestry Landscapes A University of Georgia researcher is identifying the optimal shade-tree density around coffee farms for aquatic ecosystem protection and creating guidelines to improve certification program standards and Payment for Environmental Services (PES) systems. Costa Rica
Natural Ecosystem Assessment (NEA) Pilot in Ghana and Indonesia The NEA is a new metric being piloted to evaluate the impact of the Rainforest Alliance's interventions by assessing the change in the extent and quality of natural and semi-natural habitats during the life of a project. It involves pre- and post-intervention mapping of natural habitats and the collection of field plot data. Ghana, Indonesia
An Analysis of Deforestation in Rainforest Alliance Certified and Noncertified Community Managed Forest Concessions in Northern Honduras Satellite imagery from different years is being used to analyze deforestation in and around community-managed forest concessions in and near the Río Plátano Biosphere Reserve in northern Honduras. Honduras
Developing an Adaptive Management System for Evaluating Cocoa Productivity Best Practices The Rainforest Alliance is implementing a performance monitoring system to evaluate the effectiveness of training approaches and productivity best practices on cocoa productivity and quality. Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Indonesia, Peru
Evaluating the Impact of Forest Management Interventions on Biodiversity, Deforestation & Degradation This research is a collaboration with Resources for the Future to evaluate the impact of forest management practices on maintaining or enhancing biodiversity and other ecosystem benefits in the context of REDD+ (Reducing emissions from deforestation and forest degradation while promoting forest conservation). Mexico
The Rainforest Alliance Synthesis Series Stakeholders across the spectrum regularly express a keen interest in the latest scientific evidence examining whether Rainforest Alliance certification and training are achieving the expected impacts and outcomes. In response, E&R has created a new series of reports that each reviews and synthesizes the scientific results—positive and negative—related to Rainforest Alliance activities for a single crop or thematic area. Synthesis reports for cocoa and water are currently in progress. Global
Tracking Performance of Rainforest Alliance Certified Tea Farms from First Audit to Present: An Analysis of Audit Reports from East Africa We examined the audit reports of 19 Rainforest Alliance Certified tea producers in East Africa and tracked each producer’s initial set of non-conformities through all subsequent audits to determine whether improvements were made and non-conformities addressed. Malawi, Rwanda, Tanzania
Understanding the Farm-level Economics of Rainforest Alliance Certification Together with Rainforest Alliance, researchers from the Conservation Strategy Fund are creating a framework that can be used to determine the benefits and costs of various Rainforest Alliance interventions, in this case focused on the initial certification step and subsequent renewals. Global

Recently Completed

To view all of our completed research, please visit the Publications page or click on a specific study title, below.

Title Description Location
Reducing Tourism’s Threats to Biodiversity: Effects of a voluntary sustainability standard system on 106 Latin American tourism enterprises We examined the performance of 106 hotels in six Latin American countries against the 29 criteria of the sustainable tourism standard that are most directly related to biodiversity conservation, before and after training and verification by the Rainforest Alliance. Belize, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Guatemala, Mexico and Nicaragua
Sustainable Coffee Farming: Improving Income and Social Conditions, Protecting Water, Soil and Forests An overview of scientific research examining the results of Rainforest Alliance coffee certification and training on ecosystems, livelihoods and communities.. Global
Report on Governmental Incentives for Sustainable Practices in the Agriculture, Forestry and Tourism Sectors in Latin America This report examines existing governmental incentives that promote sustainable production in the agriculture, forestry and tourism sectors in eight Latin American countries: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Mexico and Peru. These laws and policies demonstrate a commitment to environmental stewardship in Latin America and provide a model for governmental incentives for sustainable production world-wide. Latin America
Farmer Bankability and Sustainable Finance: Farm-Level Metrics that Matter Researchers commissioned by the Rainforest Alliance compared financial recordkeeping variables between Rainforest Alliance Certified farms and noncertified farms; they also surveyed social lenders and local, in-country financial institutions. The study established a common minimum set of metrics for producers to record/report in order to apply for credit; showed that certified producers are better at tracking financial metrics; demonstrated that certified producers have better access to credit; and confirmed that although lenders prefer to lend to small and medium-sized enterprises, they also value farm-level metrics. Colombia, Peru
Impacts of SAN Certification on Water Quality, Soil Invertebrates, Farmer Livelihoods and Arboreal Mammals on Coffee Farms in Colombia The report summarizes the results of four studies conducted by Cenicafe, a Colombian coffee research institute. Streams were found to be healthier on certified farms, and certified farmers implemented a variety of Best Management Practices at a higher rate than their noncertified neighbors. Colombia
Monitoring & Evaluation of the Impact of Training Modalities for Sustainable Tea Production: Rainforest Alliance Training and Certification and Farmer Field School Training Researchers from Wageningen University found that tea farmers who received Rainforest Alliance training applied environmental best practices significantly more often than an untrained control group and experienced better leaf quality. Kenya
Kleinhans Fellowship Special Feature in FAO Non-Wood News As part of the Rainforest Alliance's 25th anniversary (and in tribute to Elysabeth Kleinhans), we asked all past Kleinhans Fellows to write essays reflecting on the current field of non-timber forest products (NTFPs) and the changes they have observed since carrying out their Kleinhans-supported research. Global
Côte D’Ivoire Cocoa: COSA Survey of Rainforest Alliance Certified Farms In 2009 and 2011, COSA scientists collected data from Rainforest Alliance Certified and noncertified cocoa farms. They report that certified farms experienced higher productivity than the control group, higher net income and fewer signs of stream erosion, among other findings. Côte D'Ivoire
Testing a BMP‐Based Approach for Assessing Gaps in Certification Impacts Research The Rainforest Alliance partnered with researchers from Wright State University to develop and test a methodology to extract certification-relevant information about Best Management Practices from the large body of academic literature that examines these practices outside of the certification context.(See Appendix H.) Global
An Evaluation of Forest Cover on Rainforest Alliance Certified and Noncertified Coffee Farms in Aratoca Municipality, Santander, Colombia Researchers from the University of the Andes in Colombia used spot satellite imagery to map forest cover within the coffee production landscape. They compared Rainforest Alliance Certified and noncertified coffee farms, and analyzed forest-cover fragmentation. Since most farms in the region grow coffee under shade, forest cover was found to play an important role in the degree of connectivity in the landscape. Colombia
The Contribution of Rainforest Alliance/Forest Stewardship Council Certification to the Conservation of World Heritage Sites To answer the question of whether Rainforest Alliance Certified forests enhance the viability of surrounding areas, we examined the Corrective Action Requests (CARs) given to Rainforest Alliance Certified forests that are located adjacent to or within 20 km of World Heritage sites. These forestry enterprises were often required to make improvements that directly helped to mitigate threats to adjacent World Heritage sites. Global
Are Rainforest Alliance Certified Coffee Plantations Bird-Friendly? Researchers from our Salvadoran partner group SalvaNATURA examined bird density and use in Rainforest Alliance Certified coffee farms, technified (sun) coffee farms, open farmland and small and large forest fragments. Among other things, they found that migrant bird species showed a significant preference for certified farms and small and large forest areas. El Salvador
Rainforest Alliance Technical Assistance: Strengthening Community Forestry Operations in Mexico, Guatemala and Honduras In conjunction with local partners, the Rainforest Alliance's TREES' staff measured a variety of socio-economic variables before and after community forestry enterprises received technical assistance. They observed increases in income, efficiency, jobs and other variables. Mexico, Guatemala, Honduras
Impact of Cocoa Intensification Best Management Practices on Household Livelihood Systems This study will evaluate the impact of cocoa best management practices on household livelihoods using the Household Economy Approach (HEA) livelihoods-based methodology. Indonesia
Working Toward Cooperative Non-timber Forest Product (NTFP) Management: Integrating Economic, Institutional and Ecological Analysis to Balance Community Livelihoods and Forest Conservation in Western Amazonia This analysis of more than 15 years of retrospective socioeconomic data and frequent visits to three different community types in the Amazon examines whether putting resource management decision-making in the hands of indigenous and community groups improves livelihoods and biodiversity outcomes. Among the paper’s primary conclusions: communities that manage their forests collectively are more effective in preventing deforestation on their land and improving economic returns of forest products than private landowners. Brazil
Charting Transitions to Conservation-Friendly Agriculture: The Rainforest Alliance’s approach to monitoring and assessing results for biodiversity, ecosystems and the environment This report describes the array of tools that the Rainforest Alliance has developed to monitor environmental performance and track results over time. Written with conservation professionals and certification system Monitoring and Evaluation professionals in mind, this document provides a primer on “Performance Measurement 101” and describes each of the following six environmental assessment methods: context mapping, natural ecosystem assessment, water quality monitoring, farm performance monitoring, carbon and greenhouse gases analysis, and community-based species monitoring. Global
Conserving Biodiversity through Certification of Tropical Agroforestry Crops at Local and Landscape Scales This article in the journal Conservation Letters (co-authored with two Rainforest Alliance staff members) reviews experience to date with certification of tropical agroforestry crops (coffee and cocoa), examines biodiversity conservation impacts, and explores how agroforestry crop certification could contribute to greater conservation impacts in the future. Global
Sustainable Agriculture Network/Rainforest Alliance Monitoring & Evaluation System Public Report In the 2014 fiscal year, the first SAN/RA monitoring and evaluation report was compiled and submitted to ISEAL to assess compliance to the Impacts Code. The code requires the SAN/RA system to develop and implement a monitoring and evaluation plan that includes all the steps required to systematically assess their contributions to social and environmental impact. The report outlines our progress to date in detail. Global

 

Search form