Mesurer notre impact : les dernières recherches

En cours

Pour évaluer l’efficacité de nos actions, Rainforest Alliance dirige actuellement et/ou participe aux recherches suivantes :

Titre Description Localisation
Pilot Testing a Streamlined Methodology for Monitoring Water Quality on Cocoa and Coffee Farms Rainforest Alliance travaille avec un chercheur de l’Université de Géorgie pour développer et tester un protocole de suivi de qualité des eaux à faible coût et simplifié, qui peut être utilisé durant les audits de certification ou les visites d’assistance technique. Les tests sont effectués dans des plantations de cacao au Ghana, et dans des plantations de café au Costa Rica et au Rwanda. Ghana, Costa Rica, Rwanda
The Role of Shade Trees in Watershed Conservation in Coffee Agro-forestry Landscapes Un chercheur de l'Université de Géorgie identifie la densité optimale des arbres d’ombrage dans l’environnement des plantations de café pour la protection des écosystèmes aquatiques et la création de directives pour améliorer les normes des programmes de certification et les systèmes de Paiement pour Services Environnementaux (PSE). Costa Rica
Natural Ecosystem Assessment (NEA) Pilot in Ghana and Indonesia Afin d’évaluer l’impact des interventions de Rainforest Alliance, le NEA est une nouvelle mesure pilote qui évalue le changement dans l’étendue et la qualité des habitats naturels et semi-naturels au cours de la durée de vie d’un projet. Cela implique une cartographie des habitats naturels avant et après intervention, et la collecte de données sur des parcelles de terrain. Ghana, Indonésie
An Analysis of Deforestation in Rainforest Alliance Certified and Noncertified Community Managed Forest Concessions in Northern Honduras Les images satellite de différentes années sont utilisées pour analyser la déforestation dans et autour des concessions forestières qui sont gérées par les communautés à l’intérieur et à proximité de la Réserve de la Biosphère du Río Plátano dans le nord du Honduras. Honduras
Développement d'un système de gestion adaptable pour évaluer les bonnes pratiques de productivité du cacao Rainforest Alliance met en œuvre un système de suivi des performances pour évaluer l'efficacité des méthodes de formation et des bonnes pratiques sur la productivité et la qualité du cacao. Côte d'Ivoire, Ghana, Indonésie, Pérou
Evaluating the Impact of Forest Management Interventions on Biodiversity, Deforestation & Degradation Cette recherche est une collaboration avec Ressources pour le Futur afin d’évaluer l'impact des pratiques de gestion forestière sur le maintien et l'amélioration de la biodiversité et d’autres services écosystémiques dans le cadre des projets REDD+. Mexique
The Rainforest Alliance Synthesis Series Les parties prenantes, dans l’ensemble, expriment régulièrement un vif intérêt quant aux dernières preuves scientifiques démontrant si la certification et la formation Rainforest Alliance atteignent les impacts et les résultats attendus. En réponse, le département Evaluation & Recherche (E&R) a créé une nouvelle série de rapports qui analysent et synthétisent les résultats scientifiques (positifs et négatifs) liés aux activités de Rainforest Alliance pour une seule culture ou un domaine thématique. Les rapports de synthèse pour le café, le cacao et l’eau sont actuellement en cours. Mondial
Understanding the Farm-level Economics of Rainforest Alliance Certification En collaboration avec Rainforest Alliance, les chercheurs du Conservation Strategy Fund sont en train de créer un cadre de travail, qui peut être utilisé pour déterminer les avantages et les coûts des différentes interventions de Rainforest Alliance, dans ce cas portant sur l’étape initiale de certification et les renouvellements ultérieurs. Mondial

Etudes publiées récemment

Pour voir les résultats de toutes nos recherches, veuillez consulter la page Publications ou cliquez sur un titre d’étude spécifique, ci-dessus.

Titre Description Localisation
Reducing Tourism’s Threats to Biodiversity: Effects of a voluntary sustainability standard system on 106 Latin American tourism enterprises (en anglais) Nous avons examiné la performance de 106 hôtels dans six pays d’Amérique latine selon 29 critères de la norme de tourisme durable la plus directement liée à la conservation de la biodiversité, avant et après la formation et la vérification Rainforest Alliance. Belize, Costa Rica, Équateur, Guatemala, Mexique et Nicaragua.
Report on Governmental Incentives for Sustainable Practices in the Agriculture, Forestry and Tourism Sectors in Latin America (en anglais) Ce rapport examine les incitations gouvernementales existantes qui favorisent la production durable dans les secteurs de l'agriculture, de la sylviculture et du tourisme dans huit pays d'Amérique latine : Argentine, Brésil, Chili, Colombie, Costa Rica, Équateur, Mexique et Pérou. Ces lois et politiques montrent un engagement pour la gestion environnementale en Amérique latine et donnent un modèle pour les incitations gouvernementales en terme de production durable dans le monde entier. Amérique latine
Farmer Bankability and Sustainable Finance: Farm-Level Metrics that Matter (en anglais) Les chercheurs mandatés par Rainforest Alliance ont comparé les variables de la tenue de documents financiers entre les exploitations agricoles certifiées Rainforest Alliance et les exploitations agricoles non certifiées. Ils ont également interrogé les bailleurs de fonds sociaux et les institutions financières du pays. L’étude a établi un ensemble minimum de paramètres communs que les producteurs doivent enregistrer/signaler de manière à pouvoir demander un crédit. Elle a également montré que les producteurs certifiés sont meilleurs pour ce qui est du suivi des paramètres financiers et qu’ils ont un meilleur accès aux crédits. Elle a enfin confirmé que, bien que les bailleurs de fonds préfèrent prêter à des entreprises de petite et moyenne taille, ils attachent aussi de la valeur aux paramètres des exploitations agricoles. Colombie, Pérou
Impacts of SAN Certification on Water Quality, Soil Invertebrates, Farmer Livelihoods and Arboreal Mammals on Coffee Farms in Colombia (en anglais) Le rapport résume les résultats de quatre études conduites par Cenicafe, un institut de recherche colombien sur le café. Il montre que les cours d'eau sont en meilleure santé dans les plantations certifiées et que les exploitants certifiés mettent en place un plus grand nombre de bonnes pratiques que leurs voisins non certifiés. Colombie
Monitoring & Evaluation of the Impact of Training Modalities for Sustainable Tea Production: Rainforest Alliance Training and Certification and Farmer Field School Training (en anglais) Des chercheurs de l'Université de Wageningen ont trouvé que les cultivateurs de thé ayant reçu une formation par Rainforest Alliance appliquent des bonnes pratiques environnementales, beaucoup plus souvent qu’un groupe témoin non formé, et aussi qu'ils obtiennent des feuilles de thé de meilleure qualité. Kenya
Kleinhans Fellowship Special Feature in FAO Non-Wood News (en anglais) Dans le cadre du 25ème anniversaire de Rainforest Alliance (et en hommage à Elysabeth Kleinhans), nous avons demandé à tous les anciens Boursiers Kleinhans d'écrire un essai reflétant l’état actuel des produits forestiers non ligneux (NTFPs) et les changements qu'ils ont observé grâce à leurs recherches financées par Kleinhans. Mondial
Côte D’Ivoire Cocoa: COSA Survey of Rainforest Alliance Certified Farms (en anglais) En 2009 et 2011, les scientifiques de COSA ont collecté des données sur les plantations de cacao certifiées Rainforest Alliance et sur des plantations non certifiées. Entre autres conclusions, ils rapportent que les plantations certifiées présentent une productivité plus élevée, des revenus nets plus importants et moins de signes d'érosion des cours d'eau que dans les plantations du groupe témoin. Côte D'Ivoire
Testing a BMP‐Based Approach for Assessing Gaps in Certification Impacts Research Rainforest Alliance travaille en partenariat avec des chercheurs de l'Université d'Etat de Wright pour développer et tester une méthodologie qui extrait des informations pertinentes sur la certification concernant les bonnes pratiques de gestion parmi l’abondante littérature universitaire qui examine ces pratiques en dehors du contexte de la certification. Mondial
An Evaluation of Forest Cover on Rainforest Alliance Certified and Noncertified Coffee Farms in Aratoca Municipality, Santander, Colombia (en anglais) Des chercheurs de l'Université des Andes en Colombie ont utilisé les images satellite SPOT pour cartographier le couvert forestier des régions de production de café. Ils ont comparé les plantations de café certifiées Rainforest Alliance et celles non certifiées et ont analysé la fragmentation du couvert forestier. Comme la plupart des plantations de ces régions cultivent le café sous ombrage, le couvert forestier joue un rôle important dans le degré de connectivité du paysage. Colombie
The Contribution of Rainforest Alliance/Forest Stewardship Council Certification to the Conservation of World Heritage Sites (en anglais) Pour répondre à la question de savoir si les forêts certifiées Rainforest Alliance améliorent la viabilité des zones environnantes, nous avons examiné les Demandes de Mesures Correctives (CAR) transmises aux forêts certifiées Rainforest Alliance qui sont situées dans un périmètre de moins de 20 km des sites du patrimoine mondial. Il a souvent été demandé à ces exploitations forestières d’apporter des améliorations qui ont contribué directement à atténuer les menaces qui pèsent sur les sites du patrimoine mondial se trouvant dans le périmètre. Mondial
Are Rainforest Alliance Certified Coffee Plantations Bird-Friendly? (en anglais) Les chercheurs de SalvaNATURA, notre ONG partenaire du Salvador, ont examiné la densité des oiseaux dans les plantations de café vérifiées Rainforest Alliance, dans les plantations de café de plein soleil, dans les terres agricoles ouvertes et dans les petits et grands fragments forestiers. Entre autres choses, ils ont constaté que les oiseaux migrateurs montrent une préférence significative pour les plantations certifiées et les petites et grandes zones forestières. Salvador
Rainforest Alliance Technical Assistance: Strengthening Community Forestry Operations in Mexico, Guatemala and Honduras (en anglais) En collaboration avec des partenaires locaux, le programme TREES (en anglais) de Rainforest Alliance a mesuré plusieurs variables socio-économiques avant et après que les entreprises forestières communautaires aient reçu une assistance technique. Ils ont observé une augmentation des revenus, de l’efficacité, des emplois, ainsi que d’autres variables. Mexique, Guatemala, Honduras
Impact of Cocoa Intensification Best Management Practices on Household Livelihood Systems.(en anglais) Cette étude évaluera l'impact des bonnes pratiques de gestion du cacao sur les moyens de subsistance des ménages en utilisant la méthodologie 'Approche de l'Economie des Ménages' (HEA) basée sur les moyens de subsistance. Indonésie
Working Toward Cooperative Non-timber Forest Product (NTFP) Management: Integrating Economic, Institutional and Ecological Analysis to Balance Community Livelihoods and Forest Conservation in Western Amazonia (en anglais) Cette analyse de plus de 15 ans de données socioéconomiques rétrospectives et de fréquentes visites de trois différents types de communautés en Amazonie examine si le fait de mettre la prise de décision de la gestion des ressources entre les mains de groupes autochtones et communautaires améliore les moyens de subsistance et les résultats sur la biodiversité. Les conclusions principales de l’article disent, entre autre, que les communautés qui gèrent collectivement leurs forêts sont plus efficaces que les propriétaires fonciers privés dans la prévention de la déforestation de leurs terres et dans l’amélioration des retombées économiques des produits forestiers. Brésil
Charting Transitions to Conservation-Friendly Agriculture: The Rainforest Alliance’s approach to monitoring and assessing results for biodiversity, ecosystems and the environment (en anglais) Ce rapport décrit l'ensemble des outils que Rainforest Alliance a développé pour le suivi des performances environnementales et le suivi des résultats au fil du temps. Ecrit par des professionnels de la conservation de la nature et des spécialistes du suivi et de l’évaluation des systèmes de certification, ce document fournit un premier livre sur la “Mesure de la Performance 101” et décrit chacune des six méthodes d’évaluation environnementale suivantes : cartographie du contexte, évaluation des écosystèmes naturels, suivi de la qualité des eaux, suivi de la performance des exploitations agricoles, analyse des gaz à effet de serre et du carbone et suivi des espèces par les communautés locales. Mondial
Conserving Biodiversity through Certification of Tropical Agroforestry Crops at Local and Landscape Scales (en anglais) Cet article paru dans la revue Conservation Letters (co-écrit par deux membres du personnel de Rainforest Alliance) analyse l’expérience acquise à ce jour sur la certification des cultures agroforestières tropicales (café et cacao), passe en revue les impacts sur la conservation de la biodiversité, et explore comment la certification des cultures agroforestières pourrait contribuer à des impacts de conservation plus importants dans le futur. Mondial
Sustainable Agriculture Network/Rainforest Alliance Monitoring & Evaluation System Public Report (en anglais) Au cours de l'exercice 2014, le premier rapport de suivi et d’évaluation du SAN/RA a été compilé et soumis à l’ISEAL afin d’évaluer la conformité au Code des Impacts. Le code exige que le système SAN/RA développe et mette en oeuvre un plan de suivi et d’évaluation qui inclut toutes les étapes nécessaires pour évaluer de manière systématique leurs contributions aux impacts environnementaux et sociaux. Le rapport décrit en détail les progrès réalisés à ce jour. Mondial
Improving Practices, Changing Lives: An analysis of tea certification audit reports from Malawi, Rwanda and Tanzania (en anglais) Nous avons examiné les rapports d’audit de 19 producteurs de thé certifés Rainforest Alliance en Afrique de l’Est et nous avons suivi l’ensemble des non-conformités initiales de chaque producteur à travers tous les audits suivants pour déterminer si des améliorations avaient été faites et si les non-conformités avaient été solutionnées. Malawi, Rwanda, Tanzanie.

 

Search form

Measuring Our Impact: The Latest Research

In Progress

The Rainforest Alliance currently directs and/or participates in the following research studies to evaluate the effectiveness of our work:

Title Description Location
Pilot Testing a Streamlined Methodology for Monitoring Water Quality on Cocoa and Coffee Farms The Rainforest Alliance is working with a researcher at the University of Georgia to develop and test a streamlined, low-cost water quality monitoring protocol that can be used during certification audits or technical assistance visits. Testing is being conducted on cocoa farms in Ghana, and on coffee farms in Costa Rica and Rwanda. Ghana, Costa Rica, Rwanda
The Role of Shade Trees in Watershed Conservation in Coffee Agro-forestry Landscapes A University of Georgia researcher is identifying the optimal shade-tree density around coffee farms for aquatic ecosystem protection and creating guidelines to improve certification program standards and Payment for Environmental Services (PES) systems. Costa Rica
Natural Ecosystem Assessment (NEA) Pilot in Ghana and Indonesia The NEA is a new metric being piloted to evaluate the impact of the Rainforest Alliance's interventions by assessing the change in the extent and quality of natural and semi-natural habitats during the life of a project. It involves pre- and post-intervention mapping of natural habitats and the collection of field plot data. Ghana, Indonesia
An Analysis of Deforestation in Rainforest Alliance Certified and Noncertified Community Managed Forest Concessions in Northern Honduras Satellite imagery from different years is being used to analyze deforestation in and around community-managed forest concessions in and near the Río Plátano Biosphere Reserve in northern Honduras. Honduras
Developing an Adaptive Management System for Evaluating Cocoa Productivity Best Practices The Rainforest Alliance is implementing a performance monitoring system to evaluate the effectiveness of training approaches and productivity best practices on cocoa productivity and quality. Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Indonesia, Peru
Evaluating the Impact of Forest Management Interventions on Biodiversity, Deforestation & Degradation This research is a collaboration with Resources for the Future to evaluate the impact of forest management practices on maintaining or enhancing biodiversity and other ecosystem benefits in the context of REDD+ (Reducing emissions from deforestation and forest degradation while promoting forest conservation). Mexico
The Rainforest Alliance Synthesis Series Stakeholders across the spectrum regularly express a keen interest in the latest scientific evidence examining whether Rainforest Alliance certification and training are achieving the expected impacts and outcomes. In response, E&R has created a new series of reports that each reviews and synthesizes the scientific results—positive and negative—related to Rainforest Alliance activities for a single crop or thematic area. Synthesis reports for cocoa and water are currently in progress. Global
Tracking Performance of Rainforest Alliance Certified Tea Farms from First Audit to Present: An Analysis of Audit Reports from East Africa We examined the audit reports of 19 Rainforest Alliance Certified tea producers in East Africa and tracked each producer’s initial set of non-conformities through all subsequent audits to determine whether improvements were made and non-conformities addressed. Malawi, Rwanda, Tanzania
Understanding the Farm-level Economics of Rainforest Alliance Certification Together with Rainforest Alliance, researchers from the Conservation Strategy Fund are creating a framework that can be used to determine the benefits and costs of various Rainforest Alliance interventions, in this case focused on the initial certification step and subsequent renewals. Global

Recently Completed

To view all of our completed research, please visit the Publications page or click on a specific study title, below.

Title Description Location
Reducing Tourism’s Threats to Biodiversity: Effects of a voluntary sustainability standard system on 106 Latin American tourism enterprises We examined the performance of 106 hotels in six Latin American countries against the 29 criteria of the sustainable tourism standard that are most directly related to biodiversity conservation, before and after training and verification by the Rainforest Alliance. Belize, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Guatemala, Mexico and Nicaragua
Sustainable Coffee Farming: Improving Income and Social Conditions, Protecting Water, Soil and Forests An overview of scientific research examining the results of Rainforest Alliance coffee certification and training on ecosystems, livelihoods and communities.. Global
Report on Governmental Incentives for Sustainable Practices in the Agriculture, Forestry and Tourism Sectors in Latin America This report examines existing governmental incentives that promote sustainable production in the agriculture, forestry and tourism sectors in eight Latin American countries: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Mexico and Peru. These laws and policies demonstrate a commitment to environmental stewardship in Latin America and provide a model for governmental incentives for sustainable production world-wide. Latin America
Farmer Bankability and Sustainable Finance: Farm-Level Metrics that Matter Researchers commissioned by the Rainforest Alliance compared financial recordkeeping variables between Rainforest Alliance Certified farms and noncertified farms; they also surveyed social lenders and local, in-country financial institutions. The study established a common minimum set of metrics for producers to record/report in order to apply for credit; showed that certified producers are better at tracking financial metrics; demonstrated that certified producers have better access to credit; and confirmed that although lenders prefer to lend to small and medium-sized enterprises, they also value farm-level metrics. Colombia, Peru
Impacts of SAN Certification on Water Quality, Soil Invertebrates, Farmer Livelihoods and Arboreal Mammals on Coffee Farms in Colombia The report summarizes the results of four studies conducted by Cenicafe, a Colombian coffee research institute. Streams were found to be healthier on certified farms, and certified farmers implemented a variety of Best Management Practices at a higher rate than their noncertified neighbors. Colombia
Monitoring & Evaluation of the Impact of Training Modalities for Sustainable Tea Production: Rainforest Alliance Training and Certification and Farmer Field School Training Researchers from Wageningen University found that tea farmers who received Rainforest Alliance training applied environmental best practices significantly more often than an untrained control group and experienced better leaf quality. Kenya
Kleinhans Fellowship Special Feature in FAO Non-Wood News As part of the Rainforest Alliance's 25th anniversary (and in tribute to Elysabeth Kleinhans), we asked all past Kleinhans Fellows to write essays reflecting on the current field of non-timber forest products (NTFPs) and the changes they have observed since carrying out their Kleinhans-supported research. Global
Côte D’Ivoire Cocoa: COSA Survey of Rainforest Alliance Certified Farms In 2009 and 2011, COSA scientists collected data from Rainforest Alliance Certified and noncertified cocoa farms. They report that certified farms experienced higher productivity than the control group, higher net income and fewer signs of stream erosion, among other findings. Côte D'Ivoire
Testing a BMP‐Based Approach for Assessing Gaps in Certification Impacts Research The Rainforest Alliance partnered with researchers from Wright State University to develop and test a methodology to extract certification-relevant information about Best Management Practices from the large body of academic literature that examines these practices outside of the certification context.(See Appendix H.) Global
An Evaluation of Forest Cover on Rainforest Alliance Certified and Noncertified Coffee Farms in Aratoca Municipality, Santander, Colombia Researchers from the University of the Andes in Colombia used spot satellite imagery to map forest cover within the coffee production landscape. They compared Rainforest Alliance Certified and noncertified coffee farms, and analyzed forest-cover fragmentation. Since most farms in the region grow coffee under shade, forest cover was found to play an important role in the degree of connectivity in the landscape. Colombia
The Contribution of Rainforest Alliance/Forest Stewardship Council Certification to the Conservation of World Heritage Sites To answer the question of whether Rainforest Alliance Certified forests enhance the viability of surrounding areas, we examined the Corrective Action Requests (CARs) given to Rainforest Alliance Certified forests that are located adjacent to or within 20 km of World Heritage sites. These forestry enterprises were often required to make improvements that directly helped to mitigate threats to adjacent World Heritage sites. Global
Are Rainforest Alliance Certified Coffee Plantations Bird-Friendly? Researchers from our Salvadoran partner group SalvaNATURA examined bird density and use in Rainforest Alliance Certified coffee farms, technified (sun) coffee farms, open farmland and small and large forest fragments. Among other things, they found that migrant bird species showed a significant preference for certified farms and small and large forest areas. El Salvador
Rainforest Alliance Technical Assistance: Strengthening Community Forestry Operations in Mexico, Guatemala and Honduras In conjunction with local partners, the Rainforest Alliance's TREES' staff measured a variety of socio-economic variables before and after community forestry enterprises received technical assistance. They observed increases in income, efficiency, jobs and other variables. Mexico, Guatemala, Honduras
Impact of Cocoa Intensification Best Management Practices on Household Livelihood Systems This study will evaluate the impact of cocoa best management practices on household livelihoods using the Household Economy Approach (HEA) livelihoods-based methodology. Indonesia
Working Toward Cooperative Non-timber Forest Product (NTFP) Management: Integrating Economic, Institutional and Ecological Analysis to Balance Community Livelihoods and Forest Conservation in Western Amazonia This analysis of more than 15 years of retrospective socioeconomic data and frequent visits to three different community types in the Amazon examines whether putting resource management decision-making in the hands of indigenous and community groups improves livelihoods and biodiversity outcomes. Among the paper’s primary conclusions: communities that manage their forests collectively are more effective in preventing deforestation on their land and improving economic returns of forest products than private landowners. Brazil
Charting Transitions to Conservation-Friendly Agriculture: The Rainforest Alliance’s approach to monitoring and assessing results for biodiversity, ecosystems and the environment This report describes the array of tools that the Rainforest Alliance has developed to monitor environmental performance and track results over time. Written with conservation professionals and certification system Monitoring and Evaluation professionals in mind, this document provides a primer on “Performance Measurement 101” and describes each of the following six environmental assessment methods: context mapping, natural ecosystem assessment, water quality monitoring, farm performance monitoring, carbon and greenhouse gases analysis, and community-based species monitoring. Global
Conserving Biodiversity through Certification of Tropical Agroforestry Crops at Local and Landscape Scales This article in the journal Conservation Letters (co-authored with two Rainforest Alliance staff members) reviews experience to date with certification of tropical agroforestry crops (coffee and cocoa), examines biodiversity conservation impacts, and explores how agroforestry crop certification could contribute to greater conservation impacts in the future. Global
Sustainable Agriculture Network/Rainforest Alliance Monitoring & Evaluation System Public Report In the 2014 fiscal year, the first SAN/RA monitoring and evaluation report was compiled and submitted to ISEAL to assess compliance to the Impacts Code. The code requires the SAN/RA system to develop and implement a monitoring and evaluation plan that includes all the steps required to systematically assess their contributions to social and environmental impact. The report outlines our progress to date in detail. Global

 

Search form